Open Book

With age I have opened up more to the world.  I have grown up from that conservative girl in northern Minnesota who thought the world was black and white.  More than that, I’ve been more open with my story and my opinion.

But why?  

When I first started our family blog, it was a light-hearted holiday blog documenting our adventures and crafts (so…basically the same concept still).  With time I would share things on the blog and I found that it brought comfort to others.  Comfort I didn’t realize people needed.

Marshall’s struggles with speech and apraxia had multiple people messaging me, they were so relieved to know that they were not as alone as they felt.  Our miscarriages and the aftermath of secondary infertility also found various other people reaching out saying “me too”.  Many other instances- from physical insecurities to being a police wife who believes in reform- seemed to really speak to friends, family, and even strangers.  For every person who had the courage to reach out, I know there are a few more that quietly relate and find comfort in knowing they are not alone.  The feeling is also mutual, as I appreciate knowing that I’m not alone in these struggles as well.

See, in the social media era depression and anxiety rates are rising as people scroll their feeds and see everyone’s polished highlight reels. But it’s not real- no one has zero worries or issues.  We have great days and then we have those days where we want to stay in bed with Chunky Monkey ice cream and watch F.R.I.E.N.D.S reruns (ohhhhh is that just me? Anyway…) and those hard days are made more palatable knowing that it’s not just us.

So I share.  I share even when it’s uncomfortable or when I fear judgement.  But every time I share I am reminded that I’m not alone.  Every. Single. Time.

I also want my children to know everything that happens along the way.  Which isn’t always perfect and polished.  Hell, maybe they will even relate to some of these same issues as they grow.

On a deeper level than that, I guess I want to take some of the stigma out of things.  There should be no shame about having a child with a neurological disorder, miscarriages, fertility treatments, body image, having had experienced childhood abuse, or anything else.  Think about what kind of world this could be if there were a little less competition and a little more compassion and empathy.

So thank you.  Thank you for reaching out both publicly and privately.  Thank you to those who encourage me to be open and authentic despite the fears.  I hope you have enjoyed this past year of expanded content- we look forward to sharing more along the way!

Leave a Reply

